Daily Archives: 13/07/2011

I ran

From an angel who had been cast out of Heaven, and in the fall had lost half a wing, and in order to be kept alive, had to rely on the charity of good-hearted humans with whom it happened to come across.

I ran

from an odd kind of sweetness, something like the harmless way a mother stands in front of her child, trying to defend it from the inevitable death at the hands (and fangs!) of the bloodthirsty vampire before her.

I ran

from the shelter of my breeders, in a rush of overconfidence that would ultimately lead to my utter failure in everything I tried to accomplish.

I ran

from the opportunity of redemption in the starry eyes of a teenage girl, who’d allegedly fought against the vile desires of “this doomed modern society”.

I ran

from a shower of speeding bullets that accused me of being a dead weight on the shoulders of whoever paid attention to the debris I left behind, in my quest for absolutely nothing.

I ran from everything.

I ran from everyone.

Until I was stopped by the sight of a marvel… the gray clouds disappeared, and the threatening sky was cleared, and the hovering crows fled away from the scene: another runner was coming my way. Another lost soul, dressed in the same colors I was in, and defied the same rules I did. Another one who was the aim of misfortune, another one who drifted from the harming shots of this dangerous life…

Thus, I stopped running when I found you.

